Jama Masjid, Lucknow – A Testimony to the Historical Heritage of Lucknow

It helps to have the guide explain the minor historical details of the places that we travel. For the tour of the Jama Masjid, Lucknow, I had ensured that I would get hold of a guide who would tell me all about the Masjid so that I can understand it better. Situated right in the heart of the city, the Jama Masjid is hard to miss. Also the place is deeply ingrained in the culture of the Lucknow residents and the Muslims who reside here. As I reached the monument, I was impressed by the imposing structure built of yellow sandstone which stood majestically among the other historical monuments found in Lucknow.

Jama Masjid Lucknow

Jama Masjid Lucknow | Image Resource : zipmytravel.com/know-more-about-Jama%20Masjid-sightseeing-photos-from-Lucknow_243_711#.UvHRDt_FsUQ

Jama Masjid Lucknow Entrance

Jama Masjid Lucknow Entrance | Image Resource : panoramio.com/photo/25388363

I could see other tourists too around the premise armed with their cameras taking pictures of the unparallel beauty of the architectural marvel. I joined them while the guide kept rattling in the background about the specifics of the Masjid. Built in the combination of Muslim and Hindu architecture, there are supposed 260 pillars present which support 15 arched domes of various elevations. Beautiful carvings adorn the pillars and are inspired by the Jain and the Hindu culture. The domes too have intricate designs which made them look very ornamental. As I moved around the premise, I came across the courtyard, which the guide tells me is 75 meters in length. Attached with it is the western chamber that has 260 pillars. The eastern side entrance has the tomb of Sultan Ahmed Shah.

The beauty of the place had been very carefully preserved by the Government. Seldom, we come across commendable work done in this regard but thankfully the authorities have left no stone unturned in preserving this beautiful work of art and architecture. As I concluded the day of sightseeing, I felt fulfilled and had acquired great knowledge about the history of Lucknow. The next day was reserved for the Christ Church, Lucknow and I was looking forward to it. If it is going to be anything like the Jama Masjid, Lucknow, I was sure that I was in for another day of great fun and interesting experiences.

One thought on “Jama Masjid, Lucknow – A Testimony to the Historical Heritage of Lucknow

Leave a Reply

