Shah Najaf Imambara, Lucknow – Yet another Important Monument in Lucknow

Of the many Imambaras of Lucknow, the Shah Najaf Imambara, Lucknow was the most impressive of all. Although, it is lesser known than the Hussainabad Imambara yet, I found great peace in its quiet and serene surroundings. It is very strategically located in the middle of the city among various other very important buildings like the National Botanical Research Institute and official buildings like the Jawahar Building and the Indira Bhawan. This day was feeling especially important for me because it was my final day in Lucknow and I wanted to compile all my memories with me so that I could have ample to think about them later and see the pictures that I have particularly clicked to keep with me.

shah-najaf-imambara

Shah Najaf Imambara, Lucknow | Image Resource : touristlink.com/india/shah-najaf-imambara/photos.html

The Imambara is located in the Rana Pratap Road and is also quite close to the Sikandar Bagh Chauraha. Enveloped with the essential buildings from all sides, the front portion opened up to the Sahara Ganj Mall. This place has been constructed by the last Nawab Wazir and the new King of the Awadh. The year of construction was 1816 and it may have taken a year to complete. But later the Imambara became a mausoleum for the Nawab and the mausoleum that he got constructed for himself was made to look like the Hazrat Ali’s tomb in Najaf. This tomb was of the fourth Islamic Caliph and still can be found in Iraq. Several important people also were buried here apart from the Nawab- Ghazi-ud-din Haider and they were his three wives namely Mumtaz Mahal, Mubarak Mahal, and Sarfaraz Mahal.

The trip was closing fast and I was to make my way back to my hometown back to the daily grind. It had been nice visiting the Shah Najaf Imambara, Lucknow and I was carrying back with me fond memories of the various locales of Lucknow. The city opened its heart for me and made me familiar with its history and its culture. The people were friendly every step of the way and the sightseeing lovely. If future would permit it I would surely revisit the city and enjoy all the activities once again at a future date.

Leave a Reply

