A Royal Trip to the Lucknow Zoo

Lucknow zoo

Lucknow zoo | Image Resource : flickr.com/photos/28742607@N02/7933935168/

After exploring the Shah Nawaf Imambara, it was time for enjoying some unique and adventurous moments. Despite being a civil engineer, I had always been crazy about wildlife and loved catching a glimpse of new and exclusive animals, plants as well as birds. So I had included the Lucknow Zoo in my trip and it was my next destination. The trust formed by the Advisory Committee along with the state government is responsible for managing the zoo. On reaching the zoo I learnt that more than 1.2 lakh people visit the zoo every year. I knew that the zoo serves as the home for nearly 298 birds, 72 reptiles and 463 mammals which cover 97 different species. I didn’t forget to keep my camera ready in order to capture all the unique species.

As I covered different parts of the Lucknow Zoo, I came across animals like Hog Deer, Asiatic elephant, Golden Pheasant, Royal Bengal Tiger, Indian Rhinoceros, Zebra, Braking Deer, Hoolock Gibbon, Swamp Deer, Black bear, Giant Squirrels, Black Buck, Hill Mynahs, Lion, Pied Hornbill, Wolf, Silver Pheasant and White Tiger. I also learnt that the zoo has been successful in breeding different species like Indian Wolf, Hog Deer, Black Buck, Braking Deer, Pheasants and Swamp Deer. While moving across the zoo, I could spot a track consisting of signals and crossings and was curious to know what travelled over that. Finally, I came across the toy train which used to operate over the track since 1969 but was halted in 2013 due to some renovations. I learnt that the zoo got the train consisting of two coaches along with the engine as a gift from the Board of Railways. It was placed close to the State Museum. I also spotted another vintage train which belonged to the era of the British. After that, I entered the 1600state museum as I knew it would get closed by 4.30pm. As I entered the museum, I was amazed at the excavated antiques collected from places close to Lucknow which were famous for being associated with Lord Buddha. It consisted of bronzes, sculptures, anthropological specimens, textiles, decorative arts, coins and paintings.

Leave a Reply

