Jagannath Temple Ranchi – A Clone of the Famous Temple of Puri

Jagannath Temple in Ranchi

Jagannath Temple in Ranchi | Image Resource : localheritage.in

Once I was ready to leave, as if on cue I received the call from the reception informing me that my commute to the Jagannath Temple Ranchi had arrived. I made sure I had my camera with me and with it I made my way to the famous temple. It is said that the temple has been built by Thakur Ani Nath Shahdeo who was the king of Barkagarh Jagannathpur. The year of construction was 1691 and it was ready for worship the same year. It took us sometime to reach the temple because it is about 10 kilometers away from the proper town.

Jagannath Temple Ranchi

Jagannath Temple Ranchi | Image Resource : panoramio.com

Built along the same lines of the Temple in Puri, the architectural style of both the temples are quite identical. But, this temple is on a hill so it required devotees to either make it to the top by the stairs or take the vehicle route in order to have the darshan of the Lord. The deities of the temple are the trio of Jagannatha, Balarama and Subhadra. Someone had brought it to my notice that for some reason the temple had collapsed in the year 1990 but soon with the active participation and contributions of patrons and with the help of the Bihar government, the temple authorities were able to reconstruct the temple and bring it back to its previous glory.

Jagannath Temple

Jagannath Temple | Image Resource : panoramio.com

The outer façade of the Jagannath temple Ranchi is a pristine white symbolic of peace and harmony. It felt very calming and restful to come to the temple. There were a lot of devotees in the temple; some came on foot climbing the stairs of the temple. Thankfully, there are provisions for the devotees to sit under the shade of a big tree where the devotees can also get fresh water before they proceeded to worship the God. The temple is also famous for the rath yatra that takes place here every year along with a fair just like it takes in the Puri Jagannath. I did my puja and soon exited from the temple because next on my radar was the Sun Temple Ranchi.

Leave a Reply

