Kiran Nadar Museum of Art – The First Private Art Museum Revered by Anyone

It was a first time experience. I had never visited a private art museum before. The contrasting thing about Kiran Nadar Museum of Art (KNMA) is that it is located inside DLF South Court Mall. KNMA was founded by Kiran Nadar, a philanthropist and an Indian art collector, wife of Shiv Nadar who is the founder of HCL Technologies.

It was opened to public in the month of January 2010. It is the first private museum of art exhibiting contemporary and modern works from the Indian subcontinent. It’s a not-for-profit and non-commercial organization. There collection is more focused on contemporary and modern Indian art.

Kiran Nadar Museum of Art

Kiran Nadar Museum of Art | Image Resource: buzzintown.com

KNMA plays a very important role as a participant in the cultural and modern life in the city. It promotes the use of its collection for exhibition, education and research and public programs. It brings into the picture a wonderful generation of Indian painters of the 20th century. It also engages the different art practice of the younger and modern generations. The museum is spread over an area of 18,000 square feet.

When I entered the museum, I saw a huge tree made of stainless steel. I kept gazing at the massive shining structure. As I went closer, I saw that the tree like structure was made up of utensils. A tree made of all types of utensils except one. I could not find a pressure cooker. It immediately reminded me of Rajnikanth in the movie Robot, where he becomes a magnet and attracts metals.

The Metal Tree at Enterance Kiran Nadar Museum of Art

The Metal Tree at Enterance Kiran Nadar Museum of Art | Image Resource: theyoungbigmouth.com

I also saw a figure that looked like a dragon and was made out of homeopathic bottles and feathers. The museum has different chambers for different sets of art pieces. I saw the artworks of famous Indian and sub continental artists like Anish Kapoor, Shahzia Sikander, S.H. Raza, Rashid Rana and Subodh Gupta.

I really loved visiting the museum. The sculptures, paintings and the installations were very nicely done. The collections were truly impressive. However I could not take Photographs as it was not allowed, yet it was a great day gone by. I returned to my hotel room around 8 pm and extended my stay as I really wanted to visit more and more places. Delhi is a superb destination to tour; you just can’t do it in two or three days.

Leave a Reply

