The National Science Centre – A Pioneer in Scientific Development

I was supposed to check out the previous day, but I still wanted to visit a few more places. So I extended my stay for one more day. I went out early because I did not want to waste any time and reached The National Science Centre located on the main Bhairon Marg beside Pragati Maidan around 10 in the morning.

Science has always been my favorite subject since childhood. I had dealt with science all my life, even at present being a civil engineer I have to keep good knowledge of a variety of topics. The National Science Centre has been set up with an objective of imparting scientific awareness amongst people and to arouse interest in the field of science.

National Science Centre

National Science Centre | Image Resource: hunt.in

The National Science Centre was inaugurated on the 9th January 1992 by Mr. P.V. Narasimha Rao, the Prime Minister of India at that time. It is a unit of the autonomous body the National Council of Science Museums (NCSM) run under the Ministry of Culture. The entire museum has 8 floors with seven galleries and numerous sections for teachers, students and people of all age groups.

I visited the Heritage, pre- historic, Human Biology, Science and technology and the water galleries. I really loved the dinosaur gallery. The centre also has the first fun packed multimedia centre- The Cyber School. The museum also has a planetarium, a library and is fully air conditioned. The auditorium has a capacity of 320 people at a time and was nearly crowded as several school students were attending a Seminar on Modern Physics.

It was an awesome experience, and it’s a great initiative to enlighten the bright young minds about the basic and advance application of science in our daily life. It’s a great place for learning and a boon for all school students and teachers. The centre has been doing an admirable job in imparting scientific mindset in children.

It explains the basic logic of science in an attractive way. Time passed and I didn’t even realize. After having lunch in the cafeteria, I headed straight to the Lotus Temple, which is one of the best tourist attractions in Delhi.

Leave a Reply

