Teen Murti Bhavan – Enlightenment on Independence History of India

It was going to be my last day of tour in Delhi. I felt a little bad, but still I was happy that I could cover most of the popular destinations in Delhi. Looking back, my visit to the Red Fort, India Gate, Humayun’s tomb, Lotus Temple, and other places have given me a lot of knowledge and experience. I thought of having an account of all the places I visited in my blog once I returned to Puri. However, as you know, time is limited for me, being busy almost all the time, working with projects here and there.

The Teen Murti Bhavan also called Teen Murti House is the residence of Jawaharlal Nehru, the first Prime Minister of India. He stayed there for 16 years until his demise. After his death in 1964, Teen Murti Bhavan was reestablished into a museum-cum-library. It was designed by the British architect Robert Tor Russel during the British Raj and built in 1930 as the residence of the Commander in Chief of the British Indian Army.

Teen Murti Bhavan

Teen Murti Bhavan | Image Resource: wikipedia.org

Today, institutions like the ‘Nehru Memorial Museum and Library’ (NMML), ‘Jawaharlal Nehru Memorial Fund’, ‘Nehru Planetarium’ and ‘Centre for Contemporary Studies’ are a part of Teen Murti Bhavan. The NMML is also one of the biggest libraries in Delhi containing 18,000 microfilm rolls, thousands of manuscripts and countless photographs.

The library contains Nehru’s Personal letters, books, diary entries, etc. The Nehru Planetarium is also a great attraction, especially for the young generation. I saw a show on the solar system in the planetarium on its dome shaped screen. There were many more events on astronomy, but I did not have enough time as I needed to head back.

Three Statues Outside Teen Murti Bhavan Delhi

Three Statues Outside Teen Murti Bhavan Delhi | Image Resource: wikipedia.org

Finally, the tour came to an end. There were still numerous places left to visit, but that could be done on some other day, maybe next year. I was thinking what my friends and colleagues would say after viewing the photographs. I think myself to be really lucky that I could manage time from my busy schedule to come out and wander about a different land and know more about the Indian soil.

Our Country has such a rich culture and heritage; it always makes me proud to be an Indian. My life is and always will be busy, but I will not rest until I have visited all the places of attractions in India.

Leave a Reply

